Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Trail Report | Today in Print | Frontpage | Services | Home RSS

Ala named Houghton Cty. chair

January 15, 2014
The Daily Mining Gazette

HOUGHTON - The Houghton County Board of Commissioners named Scott Ala of District 4 as its new chair and Tom Tikkanen of District 1 as vice chair.

Ala represents Houghton, while Tikkanen's district covers Calumet and Hancock townships.

The board sets the chair and vice chair for the coming year at its organizational meeting in January. They will replace last year's chair and vice chair, Al Koskela of District 2 and Tim Palosaari of District 5.

Article Photos

Courtesy photo
Scott Ala

The meeting dates and times will stay the same in 2014. Meetings start at 5 p.m. on the second Tuesday following the second Monday of the month. The exception will be November, when the meeting will take place Nov. 12, to avoid conflicting with Veterans Day.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web